UBC - Agency Logos - West Virginia University Press logo


West Virginia University Press is the only university press, and the largest publisher of any kind, in the state of West Virginia. A part of West Virginia University, they publish books and scholarly journals by authors around the world, with a particular emphasis on Appalachian studies, history, higher education, the social sciences, and interdisciplinary books about energy, environment, and resources. They also publish works of fiction and creative nonfiction, and collaborate on innovative digital publications, notably West Virginia History: An Open Access Reader.

Showing 1-10 of 237 items.

American Vaudeville

West Virginia University Press

A dreamlike, evocative reckoning with a lost epoch in popular culture—and with old, weird America.

More info...

Skim, Dive, Surface

Teaching Digital Reading

West Virginia University Press

Students are reading on screens more than ever—how can we teach them to be better digital readers?

More info...

Fierce and Delicate

Essays on Dance and Illness

West Virginia University Press

Memoir about ballet and illness from a creative writing teacher whose career as a ballerina was stopped by rheumatoid arthritis.

More info...

Minding Bodies

How Physical Space, Sensation, and Movement Affect Learning

West Virginia University Press

What happens to teaching when you consider the whole body (and not just “brains on sticks”)?

More info...

Ghosts of New York

West Virginia University Press

Literary novel with a New York setting and a dash of speculative fiction, for fans of Colum McCann, Colm Toibin, and Dana Spiotta.

More info...

Remaking Appalachia

Ecosocialism, Ecofeminism, and Law

West Virginia University Press

A critical legal scholar uses feminist and environmental theory to sketch alternate futures for Appalachia.

More info...

So Much to Be Angry About

Appalachian Movement Press and Radical DIY Publishing, 1969–1979

West Virginia University Press

A richly produced, craft- and activist-centered celebration of radical DIY publishing, for readers of Appalachian Reckoning.

More info...

Feminist Geography Unbound

Discomfort, Bodies, and Prefigured Futures

West Virginia University Press

A field-defining collection of new voices on gender, feminism, and geography.

More info...

Working It Off in Labor County

Stories

West Virginia University Press

Humorous and wry stories of misfits and ordinary people in an Appalachian community struggling creatively to make sense of an often nonsensical world.

More info...

Red Harvests

Agrarian Capitalism and Genocide in Democratic Kampuchea

West Virginia University Press

Reassessing the Cambodian genocide through the lens of global capitalist development.

More info...
Find what you’re looking for...
Free Shipping   Blue
Stay Informed

Receive the latest UBC Press news, including events, catalogues, and announcements.


Read past newsletters
Current Catalogue
Fall 2019 Canadian Cover
Publishers Represented
UBC Press is the Canadian agent for several international publishers. Visit our Publishers Represented page to learn more.