UBC - Agency Logos - West Virginia University Press logo


West Virginia University Press is the only university press, and the largest publisher of any kind, in the state of West Virginia. A part of West Virginia University, they publish books and scholarly journals by authors around the world, with a particular emphasis on Appalachian studies, history, higher education, the social sciences, and interdisciplinary books about energy, environment, and resources. They also publish works of fiction and creative nonfiction, and collaborate on innovative digital publications, notably West Virginia History: An Open Access Reader.

Showing 1-40 of 247 items.

Slow Fuse of the Possible

A Memoir of Poetry and Psychoanalysis

West Virginia University Press

An engrossing and beautifully crafted memoir of imagination, obsession, and disaster from the couch of old-fashioned four-times-a-week psychoanalysis.
 

More info...

Memoirs of the Life, Religious Experience, Ministerial Travels, and Labours of Mrs. Elaw

West Virginia University Press

The remarkable autobiography of a Black woman evangelist.
 

More info...

Engaging the Atom

The History of Nuclear Energy and Society in Europe from the 1950s to the Present

West Virginia University Press

Transnational perspectives on the relationship between nuclear energy and society.
 

More info...

A Union for Appalachian Healthcare Workers

The Radical Roots and Hard Fights of Local 1199

West Virginia University Press

History at the intersection of healthcare, labor, and civil rights.
 

More info...

Perfect Dirt

And Other Things I've Gotten Wrong

West Virginia University Press

Recounted with humor and honesty, Lester invites us into his life as he struggles with masculinity and searches for a place where he fits.
 

More info...

The Harlan Renaissance

Stories of Black Life in Appalachian Coal Towns

West Virginia University Press

A personal remembrance from the preeminent chronicler of Black life in Appalachia.
 

More info...

Rock Climbing in Kentucky's Red River Gorge

An Oral History of Community, Resources, and Tourism

West Virginia University Press

Tells the fascinating story of the Red’s climbing community through interviews with the people who lived that history and considers how sustainable ecotourism might contribute to the region economically.
 

More info...

Past Titan Rock

Journeys into an Appalachian Valley

West Virginia University Press

A classic book about Appalachian life and music, now updated with new material.
 

More info...

On Dark and Bloody Ground

An Oral History of the West Virginia Mine Wars

West Virginia University Press

An oral history of the West Virginia Mine Wars published to coincide with the centennial of the Battle of Blair Mountain.
 

More info...

Cannel Coal Oil Days

A Novel

West Virginia University Press

A newly discovered nineteenth-century novel about West Virginia breaking away from Virginia, set amid the cannel coal boom and featuring an interracial abolitionist movement.
 

More info...

American Vaudeville

West Virginia University Press

A dreamlike, evocative reckoning with a lost epoch in popular culture—and with old, weird America.

More info...

Skim, Dive, Surface

Teaching Digital Reading

West Virginia University Press

Students are reading on screens more than ever—how can we teach them to be better digital readers?

More info...

Fierce and Delicate

Essays on Dance and Illness

West Virginia University Press

Memoir about ballet and illness from a creative writing teacher whose career as a ballerina was stopped by rheumatoid arthritis.

More info...

Minding Bodies

How Physical Space, Sensation, and Movement Affect Learning

West Virginia University Press

What happens to teaching when you consider the whole body (and not just “brains on sticks”)?

More info...

Ghosts of New York

West Virginia University Press

Literary novel with a New York setting and a dash of speculative fiction, for fans of Colum McCann, Colm Toibin, and Dana Spiotta.

More info...

Remaking Appalachia

Ecosocialism, Ecofeminism, and Law

West Virginia University Press

A critical legal scholar uses feminist and environmental theory to sketch alternate futures for Appalachia.

More info...

So Much to Be Angry About

Appalachian Movement Press and Radical DIY Publishing, 1969–1979

West Virginia University Press

A richly produced, craft- and activist-centered celebration of radical DIY publishing, for readers of Appalachian Reckoning.

More info...

Feminist Geography Unbound

Discomfort, Bodies, and Prefigured Futures

West Virginia University Press

A field-defining collection of new voices on gender, feminism, and geography.

More info...

Working It Off in Labor County

Stories

West Virginia University Press

Humorous and wry stories of misfits and ordinary people in an Appalachian community struggling creatively to make sense of an often nonsensical world.

More info...

Red Harvests

Agrarian Capitalism and Genocide in Democratic Kampuchea

West Virginia University Press

Reassessing the Cambodian genocide through the lens of global capitalist development.

More info...

The Road to Blair Mountain

Saving a Mine Wars Battlefield from King Coal

West Virginia University Press
More info...

Ungrading

Why Rating Students Undermines Learning (and What to Do Instead)

Edited by Susan D. Blum; Foreword by Alfie Kohn
West Virginia University Press
More info...

The Opioid Epidemic and US Culture

Expression, Art, and Politics in an Age of Addiction

West Virginia University Press
More info...

The Political Ecology of Education

Brazil's Landless Workers' Movement and the Politics of Knowledge

West Virginia University Press
More info...

Bluegrass Ambassadors

The McLain Family Band in Appalachia and the World

West Virginia University Press
More info...

This Way Back

West Virginia University Press
More info...

Transportation and the Culture of Climate Change

Accelerating Ride to Global Crisis

West Virginia University Press
More info...

A Place Remote

Stories

West Virginia University Press
More info...

Like Light, Like Music

West Virginia University Press
More info...

Learning to Leave

The Irony of Schooling in a Coastal Community

West Virginia University Press
More info...

Storytelling in Queer Appalachia

Imagining and Writing the Unspeakable Other

West Virginia University Press
More info...

Wheeling's Polonia

Reconstructing Polish Community in a West Virginia Steel Town

West Virginia University Press
More info...

Famine in the Remaking

Food System Change and Mass Starvation in Hawaii, Madagascar, and Cambodia

West Virginia University Press
More info...

Heeding the Call

A Study of Denise Giardina's Novels

West Virginia University Press
More info...

Mountaineers Are Always Free

Heritage, Dissent, and a West Virginia Icon

West Virginia University Press
More info...

Radical Hope

A Teaching Manifesto

West Virginia University Press
More info...

I'm Afraid of That Water

A Collaborative Ethnography of a West Virginia Water Crisis

West Virginia University Press
More info...

Beyond Populism

Angry Politics and the Twilight of Neoliberalism

West Virginia University Press
More info...
Find what you’re looking for...
Stay Informed

Receive the latest UBC Press news, including events, catalogues, and announcements.


Read past newsletters
Current Catalogue
Fall 2021 catalogue cover with a gradient background
Publishers Represented
UBC Press is the Canadian agent for several international publishers. Visit our Publishers Represented page to learn more.