UBC - Agency Logos - West Virginia University Press logo


West Virginia University Press is the only university press, and the largest publisher of any kind, in the state of West Virginia. A part of West Virginia University, they publish books and scholarly journals by authors around the world, with a particular emphasis on Appalachian studies, history, higher education, the social sciences, and interdisciplinary books about energy, environment, and resources. They also publish works of fiction and creative nonfiction, and collaborate on innovative digital publications, notably West Virginia History: An Open Access Reader.

Showing 1-20 of 252 items.

Teaching Matters

A Guide for Graduate Students

West Virginia University Press

A practical and evidence-based teaching guide for graduate students across all fields.

More info...

A Year without Months

West Virginia University Press

“A beautiful, powerful book. Read it and be changed.”—Jim Minick

More info...

Remembering and Forgetting in the Age of Technology

Teaching, Learning, and the Science of Memory in a Wired World

West Virginia University Press

What does memory mean for learning in an age of smartphones and search engines?

More info...

Rogues in the Postcolony

Narrating Extraction and Itinerancy in India

West Virginia University Press

An environmental humanist’s study of extractive capitalism and colonial occupation in Indian fiction.

More info...

African American Workers and the Appalachian Coal Industry

West Virginia University Press

Essays by the foremost labor historian of the Black experience in the Appalachian coalfields.

More info...

Slow Fuse of the Possible

A Memoir of Poetry and Psychoanalysis

West Virginia University Press

An engrossing and beautifully crafted memoir of imagination, obsession, and disaster from the couch of old-fashioned four-times-a-week psychoanalysis.
 

More info...

Memoirs of the Life, Religious Experience, Ministerial Travels, and Labours of Mrs. Elaw

West Virginia University Press

The remarkable autobiography of a Black woman evangelist.
 

More info...

Engaging the Atom

The History of Nuclear Energy and Society in Europe from the 1950s to the Present

West Virginia University Press

Transnational perspectives on the relationship between nuclear energy and society.
 

More info...

A Union for Appalachian Healthcare Workers

The Radical Roots and Hard Fights of Local 1199

West Virginia University Press

History at the intersection of healthcare, labor, and civil rights.
 

More info...

Perfect Dirt

And Other Things I've Gotten Wrong

West Virginia University Press

Recounted with humor and honesty, Lester invites us into his life as he struggles with masculinity and searches for a place where he fits.
 

More info...

The Harlan Renaissance

Stories of Black Life in Appalachian Coal Towns

West Virginia University Press

A personal remembrance from the preeminent chronicler of Black life in Appalachia.
 

More info...

Rock Climbing in Kentucky's Red River Gorge

An Oral History of Community, Resources, and Tourism

West Virginia University Press

Tells the fascinating story of the Red’s climbing community through interviews with the people who lived that history and considers how sustainable ecotourism might contribute to the region economically.
 

More info...

Past Titan Rock

Journeys into an Appalachian Valley

West Virginia University Press

A classic book about Appalachian life and music, now updated with new material.
 

More info...

On Dark and Bloody Ground

An Oral History of the West Virginia Mine Wars

West Virginia University Press

An oral history of the West Virginia Mine Wars published to coincide with the centennial of the Battle of Blair Mountain.
 

More info...

Cannel Coal Oil Days

A Novel

West Virginia University Press

A newly discovered nineteenth-century novel about West Virginia breaking away from Virginia, set amid the cannel coal boom and featuring an interracial abolitionist movement.
 

More info...

American Vaudeville

West Virginia University Press

A dreamlike, evocative reckoning with a lost epoch in popular culture—and with old, weird America.

More info...

Skim, Dive, Surface

Teaching Digital Reading

West Virginia University Press

Students are reading on screens more than ever—how can we teach them to be better digital readers?

More info...

Fierce and Delicate

Essays on Dance and Illness

West Virginia University Press

Memoir about ballet and illness from a creative writing teacher whose career as a ballerina was stopped by rheumatoid arthritis.

More info...

Minding Bodies

How Physical Space, Sensation, and Movement Affect Learning

West Virginia University Press

What happens to teaching when you consider the whole body (and not just “brains on sticks”)?

More info...

Ghosts of New York

West Virginia University Press

Literary novel with a New York setting and a dash of speculative fiction, for fans of Colum McCann, Colm Toibin, and Dana Spiotta.

More info...
Find what you’re looking for...
Stay Informed

Receive the latest UBC Press news, including events, catalogues, and announcements.


Read past newsletters
Current Catalogue
Fall 2021 catalogue cover with a gradient background
Publishers Represented
UBC Press is the Canadian agent for several international publishers. Visit our Publishers Represented page to learn more.